Thirstday #61: Magnifier (2)

image

Presenting my Wonder Woman Suit, which essentially gives me super powers – to walk & leap & fly over sky scrapers, etc…

Actually, it is mainly to help me walk lol… bracing my spine so that it doesn’t place pressure on my fracture while it heals. And this morning onwards (Day 8, Post-accident), spasms have ensued. Sharp throbs which hits unknowingly, sending a sword of pain up my side / back. For a few moments, I had to catch hold of something to steady myself, in case I fell backwards involuntarily. Thankful for walls, table-tops & the well-designed wash basin, on which I can steady myself.

A friend told me afterward that it was my muscles trying to support the rest of the sore muscles around my injury. Ah… bimbo learning something new in this area! Interesting thought I had while still in hospital – that it’s a completely new area I’m given an opportunity to experiantially learn. I am an experiantial learner, no doubt. It lended me a lot more empathy, those 2 days on my back, of the reality of spinal issues & being bed-ridden.

Am thankful that I am able to see this situation from a learning perspective . In fact, there was not a tinge of self-pity, which I’ve experienced over the past few misadventures in the last 3 years. It’s like the Almighty has strengthened me, armoured my heart against self-debilitating talk, and a waterfall of joy & optimism kept drenching me.

Yeah, it’s surreal somewhat, that feeling of being on the “positive spectrum”. There is an alternative perspective somewhat, that has been equipped somehow, seemingly over the past year. I find myself less into feeling down, looking at 1 incident & summing it as my whole life as pitiful.

I am feeling strength, a warrior spirit in me. That no matter what happens, the Almighty will steel my heart against unproductive, lengthened negativity, and I will not dwell too long. 10-15 minutes max & I move on, taking the lessons those frustrations / self-pity / pain/ fear brings me.

Psalm 18:30-36 AMP
As for God, His way is perfect! The word of the Lord is tested and tried; He is a shield to all those who take refuge and put their trust in Him. For who is God except the Lord? Or who is the Rock save our God, The God who girds me with strength and makes my way perfect? He makes my feet like hinds’ feet [able to stand firmly or make progress on the dangerous heights of testing and trouble]; He sets me securely upon my high places. He teaches my hands to war, so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze. You have also given me the shield of Your salvation, and Your right hand has held me up; Your gentleness and condescension have made me great. You have given plenty of room for my steps under me, that my feet would not slip.

I made strength from everything that had happened to me, so that in the end even the final tragedy could not defeat me. And that is what Ultima tried to teach me, that the tragic consequences of life can be overcome by the magical strength that resides in the human heart. –Antonio (Bless Me, Ultima, Rudolfo Anaya)

image

Leave a Reply

