5-Minute Friday: Exhaling Finally

image

This past weekend had really been a real exhale, slow one, much needed one, after a rather tough month on the heart.

A bunch of 22 cyclists banded together & rode 120km over 2 days, from a small sleepy town in Malaysia to a resort where we spent the night, before heading back. The key of this trip was conquering the rolling hills. Have covered the distances before, so 120km was not a huge milestone for me. It was overcoming the rolling hills & also seeing how far I’ve come, over the past 13 months of riding. Stamina, skills, bike control, speed – all have improved tremendously. Thanks to all my ride mentor and others who have coached me on occasions.

Am glad, I decided to go for the trip, despite not feeling entirely up to it. As they say, you will never be entirely ready for anything. Going by the Pareto Principle, decided to go ride, hang out with some old friends, and some new friends. The ride turned out to be a lot more cathartic than expected – with some tears on the way, remembering that this was a trip my mentor encouraged me to join. Felt at the toughest slope that I’ve done him proud & a few deep sobs after, I felt freed & grieved sufficiently for his passing. The rest of the ride was nothing less than enjoyable – chatter & laughter over the table, sharing of bike knowledge, riding alongside different people & chatting along the way, sharing riding tips, sharing of travel ideas & of course good food to look out for… There’s a lot of the conversations I really enjoyed, and a lot of the interactions of souls which occurred during that trip.

A particular young lady really touched my heart. She hasn’t known me all that long – probably about 3-4 months. Yet, took the onus on herself to ensure I was engaged in conversations, saved a seat for me at meals, introduced me to the rest of the group progressively. Came quite quiet & quite emotional in the beginning, as memories of other rides flooded back during the ferry ride to the start point. But soon, with the deliberate watching-over of my young friend, I was “forced” to interact & engage with others, which really helped me feel a lot better by the time we hit the first pitstop. By the end of the ride, I was grateful for the many friends whom I got to know, because she ensured I felt so much better. Thank you, dearie! 🙂

It felt like in the beginning of June, I inhaled & forgot to exhale, due to a series of heart-wrenches. But over the past weekend, I exhaled the past, so as to inhale the future which God has prepared for me.

…I’ll show up & take care of you as I promised & bring you back home. I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out – plans to take care of you, not to abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for. 

– Jeremiah 29:11, The Message

5 minute friday

One thought on “5-Minute Friday: Exhaling Finally

  1. But soon, with the deliberate watching-over of my young friend, I was “forced” to interact & engage with others, which really helped me feel a lot better by the time we hit the first pitstop. By the end of the ride, I was grateful for the many friends whom I got to know, because she ensured I felt so much better.

    ***How much we need others, to love us out of it, to “force” us. So glad the trip ministered. Faithful God.

Leave a Reply

