5-minute Friday: Cherish Fest

20130119-074651.jpg

“I cherish you, kiddo.”

A phrase which my Asian parents are too shy to say, but I know they do feel that way about me. However, it’s quite different from the Abba I know. He’s the Source of upfront-spontaneous-deep-hearted-communications, the type that sends vibes down your spine cos u know u r loved, and definitely cherished.

I had an “I love you” fest about 10 years ago, repeated maybe every half-decade or so. 🙂 We’re forgetful people. I call it a fest cos it felt like an extended celebration of something by Heavenly Abba, over sometimes up to a full 12-month run, depending of the amount of assurance I needed about that aspect of His feelings about yours truly.

“I cherish you” fest has begun on the stroke of midnight on 01.01.13. That was His first reminder to me of how He has carried me through so many storms in my life so far. Simply because He cherishes me, hearts me, thinks the world of me. I forget easily the specific things He has set in motion – sometimes soft whispers of my heart are answered, always at the moment when I had questions about my future, past & present. Those moments were “I cherish you” reminders.

In fact, I don’t think I was ever quick enough to write down that moment, then another comes & overwhelms me. The overwhelming cherishing by Him, surpasses all other overwhelming hard stuff.

It’s so true when I learnt about Psalm 23:6

6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life;
And I will dwell in the house of the LORD
Forever.

The Hebrew text for “follow” has the meaning of “hunt down”, like a homing device, like a love missile hunting us down, chasing us down to prove His love again & again & again.

In fact, the photo above was taken just yesterday afternoon when I was travelling to the neighbouring city. Didn’t realise the rays shining through the clouds till I was fiddling with the picture taken. And Abba softly whispered:

25 the Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you;
26 the Lord lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace. (ESV)
– Numbers 6:25-26

Wow… Blows my mind to think the Creator of universe would actually do that…

★★★★★★★★★

2 thoughts on “5-minute Friday: Cherish Fest

Leave a Reply

