5-Minute Friday: Here-here…

image

Being here, presently at the space where I am, with the people I am with, fully engaged in the conversations / activity I am involved in… In some sense, being, here, in the moment.

I used to be awefully distracted. Us busy & “indispensible” ones call it, proudly, patting one anothers’ backs, “multi-tasking”.

Multi-tasking: doing a few things at a time, albeit not in the same moment, we still proudly declare we are managing better than others who are only covering 1 thing at a time.

Are we really that efficient? Maybe. Effective? I wonder.

Personally, I am increasingly realising that, perhaps with age, I don’t appreciate rushing with multiple things on my plates. Even if I have to manage a few things at a go, it requires planning.

With people, it’s now very different for me. In the past, I was there, but yet not there. Present, yet absent. I used to be with someone, but busy answering messages, cos my phone would be beeping non-stop with notifications of new incoming requests or greetings. Or I’ll be scrolling through my emails while waiting for the meal to arrive. All in the presence of the company of another.

Recent situations of saying goodbyes on quite a few occasions – some permanently, some temporarily, some for unknown periods of seperation – I’ve recognized with much soberity a real need to be “here-here”.

So… no more seemingly here, seeminly listening, seemingly absorbing, seemingly enjoying your company. But really here-here. Present. Engaged. Attentive. Listening. 100% here.

Am glad that our multi – tasking Almighty, literally, is always 100% engaged with my every whisper from my heart. My here-here, fully-engaged Abba.

Isaiah 49:14
See, I have engraved you on the palms of My hands…


� NIV1984

1NIV1984

★★★★★★★★★

4 thoughts on “5-Minute Friday: Here-here…

  1. This is beautiful! 🙂 I want to follow God’s example and be here-here. I know that I need practice managing my time well so that I can be here-here no matter what I am doing. I love this. Thank you so much for sharing. Your words are inspiring.

  2. So lovely and so true. It has been a hard lesson for me to learn and still sometimes I fail at being Here and not being distracted by my drive to multitask. Thank you for sharing. Visitor from Gypsy Mama.

  3. visiting from 5 minute friday….yes, so easy to give in to distractions only to realize we are missing the here-here….satan celebrates this when we miss celebrating God’s blessings. I identify with not wanting as much on my plate…with not wanting to be absent, but present….good writing!

Leave a Reply

