#FWF: I See You

image

I took his hand, and started speaking to the Almighty Spirit. The pain of a lost childhood because of an abusive father crept into my heart. A trickle of the acidic rejection, the harsh words, the stinging smash of the large palms on the little face…

In the midst of chants, tears rolled, which started to form a small puddle. Tears not of pity, but of deeply feeling my dear friend’s agony which has haunted him for a good part of his 5 decades of existence.

For some strange reason, the Almighty Spirit has decided to plant this gift in me. A gift I’ve grown to love, and hate as well. Coupled with an acute sense of what is right & true, I’ve been tasked by the Almighty Spirit to share deep secrets which has probably remained buried, unstirred. Feathers unruffled until an insight illuminates the dark spot in a friend’s life. Mostly it is to open up a wound, that healing may come.

I also noticed this: simply because the Almighty Spirit is the creator of “putting ourselves in someone else’s shoes”. He can’t just leave my friends hurting throughout their lives, and stay imprisoned in their pain.

In stepping into someone’s shoes, as illuminated by the Almighty Spirit, I am overwhelmed by the intricate knowledge, of a human heart, that He has. I am overjoyed when the hand I take to prayer turns towards healing. It is truly liberating to see another emancipated from their years of imprisonment.

Yet, there are those, like those hands I am holding onto at this moment. The tears are mine. He remains expressionless. I am extending my hand into his heart to massage it to life, yet his determination to keep his heart hardened is equally strong.

I see you – your desparate attempt to build a fortress to upkeep the strong demeanor.

I see you – your need for someone to understand your deep cries for help.

I see you, as well – your fears of letting me in, just in case you are hurt like before, when you open your heart.

I see the need to protect my own heart, that I may remain sane & not be overwhelmed by burden.

Therefore, I choose to remain safe, to stop feeling with you, to stop seeing you…

© CuoreQ

★★★★★★★★

2 thoughts on “#FWF: I See You

  1. “In stepping into someone’s shoes, as illuminated by the Almighty Spirit, I am overwhelmed by the intricate knowledge, of a human heart, that He has.” …and… “Yet, there are those, like those hands I am holding onto at this moment. The tears are mine. He remains expressionless. I am extending my hand into his heart to massage it to life…” WOW!~ That is phenomenal penning. You tugged at my heart with this one. Empathy…beautifully penned here! LOVE it! SO happy you wrote for FWF!!! See you back soon, I hope! ♥

    • Thx heaps Kelli for stopping by & the encouragement! =) Trying to write it in a non-academic manner… cos I conduct trainings for empathy for a living. lol.. 😛

Leave a Reply

