Chinese Bamboo Roots

Isaiah 37:31 ASV

And the remnant that is escaped of the house of Judah shall again take root downward, and bear fruit upward.

Interesting that today as I commuted & read Aleph by Paulo Coelho, the subject of the Chinese Bamboo was broached again. The 1st was about a month ago  by a fellow blogger. Moments like this, I take heed of what the Divine Voicemight want to bring to my attention.

This round, what caught my eye is that of the 1st 4 years. Seemingly nothing happens. However, the bamboo roots are actually busy finding their way through the soil, marking their paths & staking their grip, in intricate networks of roots. This ensures not just sufficient sources of nutrients, but also stability. All for preparation for the rapid growth to 90ft within 6 weeks in the 5th year.

Interestingly, the 5-year timeline is familiar to me. As I seem to work well with planning ahead for 5 years. 60 months is a reasonable amount of time to complete certain mid-term projects. I’ll plan, then allow the Almighty to take me on a ride & tweak my plans as He leads. Of course, much has to change since that incident, which kind of aborted much plans, forcing me to somewhat having to relook at what possibly lies ahead.

Some friends alludes to the possibility of rescuing me from further heartaches. I just take it from the point of possibly, I just need to go through this,  and metaphorically rise as a phoenix from the ashes. The reasons unknown for the suddenness of his decision,  I think realistically, I’ll never really know on this side of Heaven. So a choice I need to make: to either continue wallowing,  or option nombor dua,  to walk away & heal, focusing on the other dreams yet to be fulfilled for Him.

“When faced by any loss, there’s no point in trying to recover what has been, it’s best to take advantage of the large space that opens up and fill.it with something new.” – Aleph, Paulo Coleho

Walking in the cool drizzle earlier this evening,  a thought floated in my mind. Perhaps these next 4 years are meant to be another window of learning.

1. Learning another aspect of the Almighty, tangibly & powerfully. Perhaps it’ll be another challenge to my faith & trust in His character.

2. Learning about managing a travellers’ lodge/  backpackers’ inn.

3. Learning about facilitating spiritual & character-training of children.

Sounds like my next 5 years will be a preparation for launching in my next decade. We’ll see. I pray my trail-blazing heart will persevere on, in spite of the disappointment from trying to trail-blaze purity of the waiting process, ideals as a praying gf, divinely-led ideas of supporting this 1 man.

Rebuild my heart, Abba. That I will root deeper, to reach higher. 

Leave a Reply

